Art Dump Before Travel

August 17, 2014 § 2 Comments

This will be short and sweet, because I still have an entire backpack to fill up with woolen socks and scarves before hopping on a train in the morning and flying out to Scotland in the evening.  So… I will leave you with this week’s artistic endeavors.

The first watercolor sketch is of Ancona’s grotte (little caves in the side of the cliffside that serve as boat storage and BBQ/wine nooks):

LeGrotteWatercolor

The next two are depictions of this season’s opera productions at the Sferisterio.

Ecco, the dark and mighty Aida:

AidaSferisterio

And my most-beloved Traviata:

La Traviata

I can’t believe that this summer’s beachtime lounging (OK, wine-sipping and paint-splattering) has already come to an end… I don’t know if I will actually miss it, but, it did kind of grow on me.

Oh well… I will have time to ponder on trains tomorrow, as Mr. Italian and I embark on a 13-day adventure through Scotland.  (But first, the even more adventurous Ancona-Treviso Airport route!) I’m looking forward to cloudy skies and dramatic skylines and some writing inspiration.  And, hopefully, empty, desolate stretches of road and sea, away from the highness of high season.

But, most importantly, cliffs.  And whiskey.

You can’t go wrong with that combination (well, I guess that you can go drastically wrong with that combination, but, uncombined, it’s perfect).

See you all in a couple of weeks!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Art Dump Before Travel

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Art Dump Before Travel at elefantini.

meta

