Driftwood, in new light.

August 4, 2014 § 4 Comments

Today, I played with driftwood and ended up with a new lamp:

DriftwoodLamp10

A couple of months ago, there was a huge flood in Senigallia.  Mr. Italian went out to volunteer cleaning out the debris and came back with a car full of driftwood that has been blocking our entire entrance corridor since.  I was afraid to open the looming IKEA-tarp-covered mound– mostly because I knew that I would fall in love with the wood.  Which is the exact opposite of what needs to happen when one is trying to clear out the house.

DriftwoodLamp8

…  and yet, it did.

I was going to throw the thing out the window, but I couldn’t lift it.  So, I opened it and planned to move it out of the house piece-by-piece… except that every branch, I fell in love with.  Twenty minute later, all of the surfaces of this little flat were covered by branches that ranged from as small as my finger to as big as my entire height.

The damage was done.  It was officially useless to attempt to resist any longer the temptation to play with it.

So, I selected twelve branches, painted them white and yellow, sealed them with a clear glaze, and then tied them all together.

DriftwoodLamp2

Hung a lightbulb from one of the branches and looped a wire down the branch and through the side of the basket.  Plugged it in, and ta da!

There was light.

This was a lot of fun.  I’m wondering, if I put “Made in Italy” and “Eco Design” stickers on it, could I sell it for hundreds of dollars and make a 100% profit?  Each piece completely one-of-a-kind and customized for color!  Choose the amount of light bulbs!  And probably plant pots for the base.

Oooh, I’m inspired.

Gonna go tackle the rest of that wood… I’m gonna have an entire furniture line by the end of the week! ; )

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Driftwood, in new light.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Driftwood, in new light. at elefantini.

meta

