Addio, del passato…

December 17, 2013 § 1 Comment

And the Traviata series continues, this time with a sketch from the current Scala production.

I know, I know… I thoroughly bashed this production.  And I don’t take back a single word.  But… I was asked to illustrate a review and I have been hooked on this aria since I saw the premia, so, what the heck.

(not to mention that I came down with something this weekend, so this is pretty much what I am feeling like at the moment)

Thus, the talented Diana Damrau as Violetta:

TraviataAddio

“Addio, del passato bei sogni ridenti,
Le rose del volto gia’ son pallenti.”

-a. iii s.iv (though according to Tcherniakov, this might be different…)

In other words, our lovely flower has faded.  Reduced to plain bathrobes and bottles of pills (and wine, of course).

Once I get my hands on a scanner, I will go through and replace all of these sketches with adequate versions… but for now, I hope that it will suffice.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Addio, del passato…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Addio, del passato… at elefantini.

meta

