Long Weekend

November 10, 2013 § 2 Comments

This week, the weekend turned more into a ‘week’ than a ‘weekend’… and all of it lovely, lovely, lovely.

Mr. Italian came up to Monza to bring me some things for the new apartment (as well as a lot of wine and Marche foodstuffs), so I could finally have a proper housewarming party (is it still a housewarming party when there is only one guest?).  Showed him the sights around Brianza:

And around Milano, where the sun managed to finally break through the clouds:

When Sunday rolled around and it was time for Mr. Italian to drive back to sleepy, lazy Ancona… I couldn’t resist jumping into the car with him.  After all, I had Monday off, so my plan was to take the night train back after a stroll on the beach and a glass of Rosso Conero.

On the way back to Marche, sitting in traffic on Italian highways, I knew that this was a good decision.  Since I have moved to Monza, I haven’t seen a sunrise or sunset.  So, when I saw the sun setting behind the hills of Emilia-Romagna (at 16:30, because this time change is ridiculous), I felt like getting out of the car and dancing in the middle of the lanes:

EmigliaRomanaMarcheSunset
The next morning, sunrise over the water of Passetto in Ancona:

PassettoSunrise
Two magical sun moments in 15 hours already made this 18-hour stay worth it.  Except that then it got even better because all three of my Tuesday classes got cancelled (the only classes to have gotten cancelled since I started work), so I got to stay on the Adriatic coast another two days and enjoy cloudy, windy, rainy coastlines:

And then it was time to hop on the frecciarossa (my first time on a non-regionale train in Italy… it was surprisingly impressive and almost reminded me of German trains) and rush back to Milano for an evening at the Scala:

Roberto Bolle was staring in L’histoire de Manon, and the entire performance completely blew me away.  Added with the fact that it was a dream come true to finally see something at the Scala, this was the ideal way to end what was already a thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

Looking forward to the next one.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Long Weekend

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Long Weekend at elefantini.

meta

