Dietro le stelle

October 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

I finished reading yet another children’s book: Cosa c’è dietro le stelle? by Jostein Gaarder.

He’s the man that wrote Sophie’s World, and that whole psychological fiction stuff.  All of the books that I have read by him so far have been from the view point of children, and there have been stories within stories.  I’m not sure that I am the biggest fan of the actual writing style (but this might also be a fault of the translations, which often to not do justice to the original language), but there’s always some grand idea presented that makes me think- even if the development of the stories do not usually live up to my expectations of mind-blowing revelations.

But, anyways, I found this book in the ‘used books’ section of a book store in Spoleto.  I need to build up my Italian vocabulary.  It had a pretty cute cover.  So I bought it.  It was a pretty simple read, but I suppoe that it is often in simplicity that we find inspiration for complexity.

A sentence that struck my fancy: “Mille anni non sono troppi, quando il tempo non ha inizio e non ha fine.”

“A thousand years isn’t too long, when time doesn’t have a beginning and it doesn’t have an ending.”

These twins without belly buttons travel via crystal sphere from a planet where time doesn’t exist and go visit ‘Earth’, something they thought was only a fable.  And, at the end, when they have the option to stay in a world where everything dies or go back to eternal (“per chi ha provato l’eternita’, significa perdere tutto) playtime, they choose to stay on Earth because of that exact reason- because things change, and die, and have an ending and a beginning.  And it is this sense of time, of growth and of loss, that makes everything more precious.

Don’t waste any of it, people.
And, kind of related to timelessness (alright, this is not perpetual promotion of my current endeavor, but, hey, it’s been a really successful week as far as art time has gone), Canvas Eight is finished.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dietro le stelle at elefantini.

meta

