Mezzogiorno (Jovanotti)

October 14, 2012 § 1 Comment

So, this weekend is Austin City Limits, and I am having a blast.  There have been a lot of highlights: twirling around while Florence and the Machine Plays, getting sneaked into VIP seating for Black Keys (thanks, security friends), meeting old friends, getting drenched in the rain (hey, compare this post with the first post ever on Elefantini- circle of life?!), falling in love (again) with Zola Jesus, and witnessing two of the best whistlers within 24 hours (namely Andrew Bird and LP).

And, of course, meeting Jovanotti🙂

Leave it to the Italian to show up late to his time slot of the festival, just roll everything onto the stage, and play an improv set.  And have it be awesome.  Actually, it was kind of not-very-good music-wise, but his energy and dance moves and beautiful Italian syllables made up for it.

Now, I’m not usually a fangirl.  Well, maybe I am, but I tend to hide it well; niente autografi, foto, dichiarazioni di ammirazione.

But when you happen to be an Italian pop star that dances like it’s no one’s business (and it’s not), and you happen to be strolling around the same park as me, these things do happen.  So, I had a total spazz-out moment, showed off my Italian (joke), stuffed a Sharpie in his hand, and asked a stranger to take a picture of us.  Which I’ll probably cherish until the day I die.

And in hopes of sharing a snippet of my excitement with the world, I also took quite a few photographs during his performance.  I feel like I need to make a flip-book with all of his crazy postures and try to recreate his dance routines, but that’s for another night.  For tonight, the normal stuff.

Signore e signori, for your viewing pleasure:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That last picture was Jovanotti asking for one more song during his last minutes.  Oh well.  La prossima volta, hm?  In Italia.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Mezzogiorno (Jovanotti)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mezzogiorno (Jovanotti) at elefantini.

meta

