“Blue are the feelings that live inside me”

October 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

I love having a place to myself.  It took a while to get used to the change after so many months of always being surrounded by people, but I love, love, love it.   Can’t wait for another studio apartment loft I can rent out once I figure stuff out in Austin.

It’s such a sinfully lazy life, and I am enjoying every minute.  My days consist of… well, starting around noon, an elaborate brunch, a stroll, a book/movie, writing some lyrics, dancing around on the wooden floors in my woolen socks to under-rated Italian music, and art.  And then comes the most exciting part: once it gets dark, I plug in the Christmas lights, light a few candles, open a bottle of wine, put on the extra-satisfying music playlist, and lounge on pillows in the middle of the living room until I fall asleep.  Which makes me sound either lonely or boring or an alcoholic, but… it’s just momentary bliss.

It’s been a long time since I thoroughly enjoyed using acrylics, because they always dry out so fast on a palette.  So, I finally build one of those “keep-my-paints-moist” boxes out of a tupperware box, some foamy thing I found under the sink, and some oven paper… and it worked!  Which means that I could mix paints, and they would still be usable after two minutes.

So this is what I came up with, inspired by the translucent simplness of tempera paints.  I just painted on the blue background and skin-colored foreground as big blobs, then used light washes and basic lines to put in the rest.  It was fun, easy, and stress-free.  I like painting sessions like that : )

And, I browsed a music blog yesterday… which I haven’t done at all since I left the States (I know, it’s horrible).  I feel so behind!  But, on the other hand, it was awesome to just be able to download every link with giddy anticipation and spend hours thoroughly enjoying it.  Like the compilations stuff between Bon Iver and James Blake.  Or Sharon Van Etten covering Glass Ghost.   And Feist and Bon Iver doing the Train Song.  Or Blitzen Trapper.  New playlist?  I think so.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Blue are the feelings that live inside me” at elefantini.

meta

