I Love You, Pumpkin.

October 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

It’s starting to become chilly here, on the eastern coast of Italy.  Which means…. it’s okay to switch over from the white to red wines :)  For every day sipping, instead of just for food pairings.  Another reason to be happy in life.

To celebrate the feeling of autumn, bought a pumpkin.  For the first time in my life, I made food with it instead of carving it out to resemble a witch of lion or goblin or phantom or measeled balloon.  Pumpkin soup, with nutmeg and ginger and curry and leek.

Preceded by a tomato appetizer: cherry tomatoes stuffed with a ricotta cheese mixture containing basil, garlic, and green olives (also first time that I voluntary ate an olive while cutting them up- not super delicious, but it made me feel sophisticated, so I actually enjoyed it a little bit, in its own weird olive-y way).

Read another book: The Brightest Star in the Sky, by Marian Keyes.  This isn’t the sort of book that I would normally pick up at the store (yes, I judge books by covers), but… I grabbed it at a hostel, and I actually quite enjoyed it.  I laughed, a lot.  But it was also endearing and serious and charming and… life.  I also realized that almost all of my favorite books deal with rape, in one form or another.  I am not sure that this is a good thing.  I am not a fan of rape, let me just get that out there.  But, somehow, the books that affect me the most, mention this topic.  Maybe it has to do with my own fucked-up psychological condition when it comes to sex and all that, but whatever it is…  eh.  However, I think that I still mostly enjoy relationships that are sad and depressing.  Anyways.  Delicate issues or not, it’s a good book that is a lot of fun to read and has the most unique narrator that I have yet seen in a book.

Back to the kitchen and paintbrushes.  And trying to bathe in the few rays of run that appear between noon and three, on less cloudy days.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Love You, Pumpkin. at elefantini.

meta

