Hot and Cold

October 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

Slowly ebbing out of the laziness.

Last evening, I had a lovely surprise.  Italian Host came home from work early, threw my swim suit into his backpack, jammed me into his car, and abducted me a three-hour sauna/spa treatment… which was amazing.  Especially the den for the Turkish sauna, where they had the ceiling covered in purple Christmas lights.   And the scented spray showers, which reminded me of elementary school and long nights of Zelda.  And the tea’n’apple refreshment room (because sitting in a hot tub is hard work and we all need a break sometimes).

In exchange,  I set the alarm clock for 5:30 am today, drag him out of bed, and make crepes and tea while he showers.  Then, command him to drive us to the Pasetto, and we had a lovely sunrise picnic on the cliffs overlooking the Adriatic Sea.

The sun inspired me, so I went home and splattered paints:

I never thought I would do a painting like this because (a) it’s a landscape, which is not a portrait, and (b) it’s a sunset, it’s cliché.  But this is really what you see all around you when you turn your head in any direction in Istanbul.  How many times can you just squeeze red paint directly onto the canvas out of the tube, and realize that it’s the eact color you’re looking for?  It’s pretty cool.

And then I used the leftover paints for this depiction of Germany:

Obviosuly, there is no hints of cold in Turkey.   All for the north.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hot and Cold at elefantini.

meta

