Yellow, Purple, and Green.

October 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

It’s like my crazy two weeks in Istanbul are just now catching up with me.  I am content to just pretend to be a cat for the day: lounge on the bed, naps throughout the day on the cliffs overlooking the sea, eat lots of little delicacies, and not even bother to reach for the magazine.  This is a sinful level of lethargy, even for me.

By the end of this week, I will be back on my feet and boycotting jars of Nutella accompanied with tablespoons.

Although, I did muster up the courage to roll off the mattress last evening, put on some Ray Charles, and turn on the oven.  Mainly because when I got back to Italy, my wonderful Host welcomed me with lots of orange sticky notes exclaiming “welcome back!” all over the flat, and a table overflooding with fresh fruits and veggies.  Which is great, but after a few days, you can’t use the word ‘fresh’ to describe them anymore, and hatred of wasting food motivates one to come up with recipes for all of the waiting foodstuffs.

SO:  chicken legs with apple and onion pieces sauteed in white wine, apple vinegar, and turmeric powder,
roasted eggplant topped with carmelized garlic-cherry tomatoes, mozarella, and basil leaves,
and a simple curry with a few drizzles of olive oil and lemon zest.

Eggplant and Chicken

I still have a love-hate relationship with eggplant.  I love to eat it, but I think it’s the most awkward vegetable ever to play in the kitchen with.  It reminds me of a tennis shoe.  Made out of foam.  And purple.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Yellow, Purple, and Green. at elefantini.

meta

