Global Success

September 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today, there was a potluck dinner at the beach: perfect opportunity to show-off my self-fostered kitchen talents (or, erm, passion for making stuff that I can stick in my mouth)?  And take the plunge to disrupt the long table of various Italian pastas and pastries with something a bit more international?  I think so.

For dinner, couscous.  I haven’t eaten it in such a long time, I forgot how much I love it.  Since it’s so hot outside here, I went for the chilled variety.  Let the couscous cool, then add a mixture of chopped parsley, rosemary, dried cranberries, a diced apple, and chopped up hazelnuts.  Then throw in a chopped carrot and some celery and mix it up.  To make it less moist, I made a mixture out of apple vinegar, some maple syrup, pinch of pepper and salt, and olive oil… and tossed it with the cousous.  Chill for a few hours, and then it’s yummy.

Couscous

For dessert: chocolate chip cookies : )  Need I say more?  How many Italian gets the chance to try raw cookie dough, or have a piping hot chocolate chip cookie fresh out of the oven?  My Host did.  Definitely Italian-approved.  Not that I had any doubts- this is one dessert that is globally loved, I think. 

Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Global Success at elefantini.

meta

