Different Rays of Sunshine

September 8, 2011 § Leave a comment

Happiness is…

getting a bouquet of sunflowers because “there wasn’t enough sun for you outside today.”Sunflowers

I am currently researching hiking trails in Europe to plan my next adventure.  Not that I want to plan much- I just know that I want to take a ferry over to Croatia and then somehow hitchike to Sofia and then stroll down to Istanbul. Or something of the sort.  I went out for apperitivo with a girl I met here in Ancona… she is actually from Turkey and going back next week, so by the time I get there, there will be a friend already waiting for me :)  It’s wonderful, how life just offers you whatever you need.

Other than that… went to the post office to pick up my shiny, new passport.  Sitting at a cafe now, feeling really good about life.  It’s almost overwhelming (in a good way) to think that I can head out again at the drop of a hat.  I mean, you can do anythingWhenever you want.  Just, go.  Somewhere.  And leave everything else behind, and just walk toward the horizon, and try to find out whether it is curved or straight.

Freedom is the best feeling in the world, even if it can be a bit daunting at times.  But it’s what makes you feel alive, really alive.

That, and bright flower petals and tea infusions and long cuddles.  I need a few more days here to enjoy the slow Italian life before grabbing a backpack again.  Soak it all up, store it in my mind, and stock up on the warm memories before going out to look for new ones.

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Different Rays of Sunshine at elefantini.

meta

