La traviata

December 10, 2013 § 3 Comments

Today’s sketch: la Traviata, prelude.

LaTraviata

It looks like my Carmen spell has finally been broken (I love Bizet, but after a year of bursting out into intense humming sessions of the urchin chorus on an almost daily basis, it was time to move on…), thank goodness.

Now, I can have a new musical obsession.

Saturday night was the inauguration of the new season at the Scala in Milano.  Italy is cool and broadcasts the event on public television, so… I and all of the elderly population of this country spent our Saturday night bundled up inside, munching on warm chestnuts, and critiquing Tcherniakov’s production of La Traviata (and then at the final bows were supported by all of the boo-ing from the audience).

And while the production itself was pretty horrible (though no complaints about the voices), the music itself lingered in me since.  So, yesterday I went to the public library and checked out all of the recordings of the opera that I could find.  As well as the Anna Netrebko/Rizzi DVD of the 2005 Salzburg production.

How have I never seen this before?!

I am in love.  It’s been on loop since I checked it out, the rest of the recordings lying in a discarded pile.  Not usually a fan of modern productions, but this is genius.  I love, love, love it. People like Netrebko make me insanely jealous- gorgeous and talented?  Psh.

Anyways, I sense an art series coming up : )

[notice the white camellia?  thank you very much]

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to La traviata

  • Steve Dilworth says:

    Hi Julia, I was rather shocked when I saw you post on La Traviata in the mail this morning because I saw it at the cinema today from La Scala,
    an encore of last weekend’s performance! What a coincidence! I’m enjoying your blog and all the photos and art! Steve

    • Simba says:

      Oh wow- funny how that works, no?

      What did you think of the performance? I rather enjoyed Gatti’s and Damrau’s parts, though the production in whole was a tad bit ridiculous, methinks. I mean, how many vegetables can you chop in three hours?

      Either way… thanks for the following and the kind words and everything else :) Hope you’re well!

  • Steve Dilworth says:

    I would not give this production high marks. I liked the third act very much, but the scene in the kitchen, and especially the second act, were a bit ordinary. The modern dress was not glitzy enough, although the elderly maid with the red hair and poncho was a nice touch!

    Last week was Vepres Siciliennes from Covent Garden!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading La traviata at elefantini.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 553 other followers

