Lions, and Tigers, and Capybaras, Oh My!

May 19, 2013 § Leave a comment

Today, I did what I have been itching to do for many months here in the Marche region of Italy.  I went to the Falconara Zoo, which, while it does not quite compare to German zoos, certainly puts the Austin one to shame.  It’s kind of like everything in Ancona: small, quaint, and with a spark of something special (bonus points for all of the Simba pictures scattered throughout the place!).  I mean, how many zoos are situated on top of a hill like this:

IMG_2823
and the animals gaze out of their ‘cages’ onto this landscape:

IMG_2824

IMG_2831…?

Not many that I have been to.  So, Italian and I wandered around for a bit and imitated animals, such as these things (the meerkats were definitely my favorite):


En route home, we stopped by one of my favorite places around Ancona, la Selva di Gallignano, a botanical plot of land that includes fields and gardens and ponds and a few little hiking trails.  It being a late springtime, I had the honour of being surrounded by my favorite dabs of red in the Italian landscape- poppies!

IMG_2895
Along with the ribbit’s and hops of dozens of frogs, the thick buzzing of bumblebees, and other splashes of color:

And, as if nature didn’t offer me enough reasons to smile today, I found this mesmerizing thistle on the way back to the car:

IMG_2913

Have I ever mentioned how clear all of the colors are in Italy?  They’re almost glowing.  And, oh, that sky. Sempre più blu.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lions, and Tigers, and Capybaras, Oh My! at elefantini.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 522 other followers

